Do you really need that Nutribullet? Pros and cons of this bestselling gadget

It’s got nearly 2 million likes on Facebook and last year John Lewis sold a Nutribullet every four seconds . If you’ve yet to buy one (or it’s sitting in your kitchen unused), this post might help you decide whether you really need one, how to best use it, and whether this brand is the right model for you.  Pros:

Some fruits are better blasted :  Kiwis are the best example. No faffing anymore with peeling them and getting sticky fingers whilst squashing an over-ripe one, or letting an under-ripe one slip through the fingers onto the floor. Wash the whole fruit and put in the blender with its fuzzy skin.

It’s the perfect way to add super-healthy flaxseeds into your diet:   Adding flaxseeds (also known as linseeds) to salad really doesn’t work for me, and how many linseeds can an artisan loaf of bread pack in anyway? Besides, to absorb the maximum  nutritional benefits of flaxseeds they need to be ground. This you can do the Nutribullet’s grinder blade and store in a jar; then add a spoonful to your Nutribullet blast for essential omega-3 fatty acids.

It’s an easy way to add healthy plant protein in the form of chia seeds:  I don’t do chia puddings because I find the texture and taste of the swollen gelatinous soaked seeds unappealing.  But chia seeds are packed with nutrients including protein and calcium. I’m mostly vegetarian, and my dairy-egg intolerance means making sure I don’t miss out on essential nutrients. Like flaxseeds, chia seeds can blitzed with the Nutribullet’s grinder blade, stored, then added to blasts.

Liquid blasts add variety: I didn’t buy a Nutribullet to get healthy because thanks to my predominantly Mediterranean way of eating and favouring foods grown in sunshine, eating more fruit and vegetables isn’t an issue for me. But it’s great to have another dimension. It’s the simplest way of having a starter and preparing the digestive system before a meal for example.

FullSizeRender (2)
My sunshine foods can now be blasted too

 

You can start the day with greens:  Adding a base of organic spinach leaves to fruit blasts means you’re getting a range of glorious antioxidants to kick-stark the day, something particularly recommended by macrobiotic experts.  I wouldn’t eat greens or salad for breakfast so this is perfect.

Ease your digestion by adding ginger:  Adding a small amount of ginger not only provides a flavour-kick to blasts, it soothes the tummy and is also anti-inflammatory. This is the perfect way to gain the nutritional benefits of ginger if, like me, you don’t cook with ginger daily.

It’s a great way to stay hydrated:  I forget to drink water all day when it’s not hot (which is most of the year in the UK).  With Nutribullet blasts  water is added to every combination so you’re hydrated from the fruit, veg and the added liquid.

Nutribullet is compact: For small kitchens like my tiny compact one it doesn’t take up much space. And I use it every day.

It’s easy to clean: I got rid of a juicer years ago because I was too lazy to clean up pulp from the machine so it just took up space in my tiny kitchen.

It’s fast:  The difference between the Nutribullet and the cheaper versions is the power of the blades.  It takes seconds to blitz a concoction.

You have a reason to buy over ripe fruit and bargain salad vegetables: Anything goes in a blast.

You can make your own almond milk: It’s a bit of a faff but one that’s well worth it if you love almonds, are dairy- intolerant, and want the real unadulterated thing.

Cons

Some of the health claims are dubious: I wasn’t sold on the ‘nutrient extractor’ sales pitch claiming that blasting fresh ingredients increases the nutritional value because it breaks down the cells.  Are the Nutribullet nutrition claims true? The extensive blurb doesn’t rely on scientific back-up, so there’s a question mark over juicing your way to health if these blasts are all you rely on.  The ‘celebrity spokesperson’ for the brand is a ‘health, eco, nutrition, and natural beauty expert’ I hadn’t heard of, David ‘Avocado’ Wolfe . Much of what he says certainly makes health sense, but I couldn’t find evidence of his nutritional or science qualifications, and when it comes to serious health conditions and claims I prefer to see some hard core evidence.

You don’t want to be part of the green-juice brigade:  I certainly don’t.  I don’t exclude food groups unless there are medical reasons, I don’t make a big thing about eating clean, and I don’t believe we have to choose between one way of eating and another.  Yes, I’m mostly vegetarian and even vegan, however, I do eat meat sometimes.  I cook mostly wholegrains rather than white pasta, but I’m certainly not going to pass on a divine pasta dish when I’m out. I avoid dairy and eggs because I’ve diagnosed as intolerant through a blood test. I find it sad that people exclude dairy/wheat/carbs for no medical reason.

Let’s be honest – real juice tastes better:   True juices using the extraction method have a more intense flavour.  Nothing beats a fresh orange juice or orange and carrot juice.  When the whole fruit/vegetable is blitzed and you add water, sure, you’re retaining the healthy  fibre (and it makes cleaning the gadget easy), but you’re also diluting the glorious flavour. And sometimes that’s what we foodies want.

pexels-photo (1)
Sometimes only a real fruit juice will do

The Nutribullet cups are odd sizes: The small ones are too small, and even with the tall cup there’s a limit to how much variety you can pack in without leaving a whole load of half and quarter-cut fruit and vegetables lying around.  Much as I love what I affectionately refer to as my NB, I do agree with this review.  And I’d rather just one glass cup than 3 plastic ones.

Let’s be honest part 2, the best blasts are with banana:  Add banana (especially frozen) and you get wonderful creaminess to which you can add cocoa and raspberries for a thick blast reminiscent of chocolate milkshake. But many experts will point out that eating tropical fruit high in sugar every day isn’t exactly healthy.  Besides, bananas are a great portable food, so I don’t want to be adding them to my blasts every day.

Let’s be honest part 3, the best blasts are with nut milks:  However, shop-bought almond milk is mostly water and additives, and coconut milk is high in saturated fat.

food-blueberries-milk-bowl
Coconut milk adds creamy taste

The gourmet foodie choice is the Vitamix Professional:  I can’t afford it but it’s definitely on my dreamlist. It does a lot more than the Nutribullet which can only handle a mix containing liquid. For foodies who love to cook this isn’t just for drinking, it’s for creating meals.

Leave a Reply

